UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > Components and Circuits

Notices

Components and Circuits For discussions about component types, alternatives and availability, circuit configurations and modifications etc. Discussions here should be of a general nature and not about specific sets.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26th Jul 2020, 6:26 pm   #1
vinrads
Nonode
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chesterfield, Derbyshire, UK.
Posts: 2,334
Default Encapsulating output tx's

Just a thought before I paint these , I have fitted two EL84 push pull output tx's in aluminium boxes to make them look pretty , question ! the wires may be crossing each other primary side sec should be ok , thought's please Mick.
vinrads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jul 2020, 7:06 pm   #2
merlinmaxwell
Dekatron
 
merlinmaxwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Maidenhead, Berkshire, UK.
Posts: 9,685
Default Re: Encapsulating output tx's

No problem at all (as long as the insulation holds up!). All the wires carry the same signal so crossover isn't an issue.
__________________
Cats have staff, it's dogs that have owners.
merlinmaxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jul 2020, 7:33 pm   #3
vinrads
Nonode
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chesterfield, Derbyshire, UK.
Posts: 2,334
Default Re: Encapsulating output tx's

Thank's that's good news , a picture of the tx's before painting , they were made of 3" box section the top was glued on using araldite the corners rounded off , they will be satin black. "nice " Mick.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGP0017.jpg
Views:	202
Size:	66.3 KB
ID:	211910  

Last edited by vinrads; 26th Jul 2020 at 7:57 pm.
vinrads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Aug 2020, 1:44 pm   #4
retailer
Pentode
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 233
Default Re: Encapsulating output tx's

That's a great way to finish off a TX, I was thinking of folding something up but this looks better.
retailer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Aug 2020, 5:37 pm   #5
vinrads
Nonode
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chesterfield, Derbyshire, UK.
Posts: 2,334
Default Re: Encapsulating output tx's

Hi I have not fitted them yet so here is a picture of them painted, good luck with yours, Mick.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGP0027.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	69.3 KB
ID:	212779  
vinrads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Aug 2020, 6:27 pm   #6
sortedradio
Hexode
 
sortedradio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 303
Default Re: Encapsulating output tx's

They look great!
__________________
Martin
BVWS member
GQRP Club
sortedradio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Aug 2020, 5:43 pm   #7
Petedox
Tetrode
 
Petedox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Waterlooville, Hampshire, UK.
Posts: 71
Default Re: Encapsulating output tx's

That's a brilliant idea Mick, I built a 300B SET amp a couple of years back and couldn't really find decent enclosures that fitted the Hammond transformers and looked right (plus they were pretty expensive). Also I rather underestimated the weight of the finished amp meaning it was easy to slightly twist the chassis when moving unless supported equally all round.

This has inspired me to revisit the project and start some metal bashing, so thanks!
__________________
Pete
Petedox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Aug 2020, 5:59 pm   #8
vinrads
Nonode
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chesterfield, Derbyshire, UK.
Posts: 2,334
Default Re: Encapsulating output tx's

Hi Pete ,good for you for revisiting the project , I found the ali box section on E Bay , good luck with your project. Mick.
vinrads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Aug 2020, 7:20 pm   #9
Bookman
Hexode
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Taunton, Somerset, UK.
Posts: 304
Default Re: Encapsulating output tx's

Hi Mick,
Any reason why you did not bother potting these items; just curious?
Joe
Bookman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Aug 2020, 7:43 pm   #10
vinrads
Nonode
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chesterfield, Derbyshire, UK.
Posts: 2,334
Default Re: Encapsulating output tx's

Hi Joe , the transformers were ex equipment , I had to have one rewound , if the other one packed up in the near future ,I can easily remove it and replace , no other reason , Mick.
vinrads is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:32 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2020, Paul Stenning.