UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Closed Thread

Old 17th Jun 2018, 4:16 pm   #1
1100 man
Octode

Default Hot LOPT's!

This is a problem I've now had on several 405 & D/S sets. The set works fine with a good picture but the LOPT gets much hotter than I would like. I do wonder how hot some of them got originally, especially being jammed up against a very hot LOP valve and boost diode and then being covered by a tin screening cover. Maybe this was one reason for premature failure on certain models?
Anyway, I've never done much investigation before: my solution in the past was to mount a small cooling fan fed from a capacitor dropper. This works fine and keeps the transformer nice and cool.

The Pilot TV that I've gradually been rebuilding has a similar problem and I've spent many hours trying to get to the bottom of it.
After half an hour, it's uncomfortably hot. After an hour its way too hot to touch. Not good.
The EHT, at 12kv is a bit low (specified at 16Kv).This drops to 10KV as the transformer gets hotter.

I thought it might be due to leakage from the wax coating on the overwind so this was dissolved off and re-coated with transformer varnish. Same with the primary. New LOP valve, boost diode, & EHT rectifier have been tried. All passive components are new anyway. I've experimented with the value of the tuning capacitor across the transformer. Nothing has made the slightest difference! I even removed the thing from the chassis to see if there was leakage to the core:- there wasn't!