UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > Components and Circuits

Notices

Components and Circuits For discussions about component types, alternatives and availability, circuit configurations and modifications etc. Discussions here should be of a general nature and not about specific sets.

Closed Thread

Old 10th Aug 2022, 1:02 pm   #1
djsbriscoe
Pentode

Default Nuvistor experiments-Where should I start?

I'm intrigued by the nuvistor device, and I'd like to do a few experiments just out of interest. Where should I start, and what should I avoid? Is there any practical guides I can follow. I have basic knowledge of conventional tubes through tinkering as a teenager in the 60's.
Just had a quick look on Youtube and there's not much on there. Maybe I could start with a very simple short wave radio. What are your thoughts? Thanks.
Old 10th Aug 2022, 1:16 pm   #2
djsbriscoe
Pentode

Default Re: Nuvistor experiments-Where should I start?

Or maybe a small bench top headphone amplifier? Oops, just read that they are a bit microphonic as well as being rather expensive. Maybe not such a good idea then?

Last edited by djsbriscoe; 10th Aug 2022 at 1:29 pm.
Old 10th Aug 2022, 1:27 pm   #3
djsbriscoe
Pentode

Or maybe subminiature tubes are better for FM radio front ends.

https://www.effectrode.com/knowledge...niature-tubes/
Old 10th Aug 2022, 1:53 pm   #4
Bazz4CQJ
Dekatron

I think their most popular role with hobbyists was as the front end of 2m converters back in the late 60' - 70's. They were quite effective, and far less prone to the factors that killed off dual-gate mosfets, which were also popular back then.

They've also been used in some GDO's, capable of operating at higher frequencies.

B
Old 10th Aug 2022, 2:51 pm   #5
VT FUSE
Hexode