UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Closed Thread

Old 7th Sep 2021, 3:37 pm   #1
xereeto
Diode

Question First repair project - PYE 450 (Philips G11). Weird beam distortion.

Hi folks,

I'm very new to the hobby of vintage electronics repair, coming from a background of simple digital electronics.

I recently acquired a PYE 450 television from circa 1978 (pictured below), which was completely dead when I got it. After reflowing the solder joints on the power supply board, I was able to bring it to life and after a little coaxing I had it producing a decent picture from a VHS input. I thought I was pretty much home free at this point. However, after being turned on and displaying for roughly five minutes, the image started to bow in at the sides. This distortion is now permanent, and I'm not sure how to approach troubleshooting it. The degree of bowing seems to respond to the brightness of the image, with brighter scenes appearing less distorted.

Attached are images of the television, its internals, and what the fault looks like. Here is a video as well, showing the distortion changing with the picture being displayed.

Any advice is greatly appreciated! Thank you.

Click image for larger version

Name:	tv-off.jpg
Views:	268
Size:	73.4 KB
ID:	240837

Name:	tv-open.jpg
Views:	263
Size:	74.8 KB
ID:	240838

Name:	tv-distorted.jpg
Views:	315
Size:	49.7 KB
ID:	240839
Old 7th Sep 2021, 5:56 pm   #2
Graham G3ZVT
Dekatron

Default Re: First repair project - PYE 450 (Philips G11). Weird beam distortion.

In the trade this chassis is known as the Philips G11

I am trying to see if the hum is mains asynchronous, I don't think it is, but your TikTok style video is too short to tell