UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Amateur and Military Radio

Notices

Vintage Amateur and Military Radio Amateur/military receivers and transmitters, morse, and any other related vintage comms equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 21st Dec 2020, 9:35 pm   #1
AmateurRepairer
Pentode

Default Marconi CR100 - £30 bargain

Just bought this old lump for £30 off eBay.

I know it’s an ex navy unit. Can anyone give me any info on it as to what it actually does I know it’s a receiver so does that mean I can tune in to normal LW MW SW stuff? Apologies for the obvious questions I’m new to the hobby.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	41457FA2-142B-4235-A713-BA0F977437AB.jpg
Views:	520
Size:	75.9 KB
ID:	222975  
Old 21st Dec 2020, 9:41 pm   #2
G6Tanuki
Dekatron

Default Re: Marconi cr100 - £30 bargain

Yes. it's a LF/MF/HF receiver - from the photo yours has been 'got-at' - the front panel's been reworked with Dymo-labels and an alien S-meter has been added.

Sensitively-restored they can be really good receivers on medium-Wave and the lower-short-wave bands, but don't expect too much in the way of image-reception or tune-to-a-SSB-station-and-expect-it-to-be-stable above 15MHz.
Old 21st Dec 2020, 9:43 pm   #3
HamishBoxer
Dekatron

This covers 60 Khz to 30 mhz depending on the variant,a reasonable communications receiver.That I believe is what the CR stands for.Made by Marconi.
Old 21st Dec 2020, 10:02 pm   #4
Ed_Dinning
Dekatron

Plenty of info and circuits on the web.
They were extensively discussed in Radio Bygones magazine a few years ago

Ed
Old 21st Dec 2020, 10:02 pm   #5
M0FYA Andy
Nonode

Look out for perished rubber insulation on the wiring, they are famous for it.
Old 21st Dec 2020, 10:53 pm   #6
Jon_G4MDC
Nonode