UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 3rd Feb 2023, 11:24 am   #1
KSlatt41
Diode

Default Winthrop President

Hello.

This is my first time posting and hope it is okay to ask about a music centre that may not have been built in the UK - a Winthrop President music centre. I have attached a photo, this is not my music centre but is the same model. The music centre works great apart from the turntable - it feels as thought it is completely seized - no give or wobble in it at all. Would anyone have any ideas how to fix it? Apologies if I am in the wrong place. We acquired the music centre yesterday and my 17 year old loves it and would really like to be able to play his LPs on it. Any suggestions would be gratefully received

Many thanks, K.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Winthrop President music centre.jpg
Views:	173
Size:	32.6 KB
ID:	272604  
Old 3rd Feb 2023, 2:12 pm   #2
Edward Huggins
Dekatron

Default Re: Winthrop President

It's an early 1970's BSR C Series deck. If you mean it will not turn. Service Sheets are available from this site once we have pinned down the model number. If you mean you can't lift the platter (turntable) off, then advise us. What skills so you have with these? It should be an easy fix if you are familiar with these.
Old 3rd Feb 2023, 10:22 pm   #3
Audio1950
Dekatron