UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > Cabinet and Chassis Restoration and Refinishing

Notices

Cabinet and Chassis Restoration and Refinishing For help with cabinet or chassis restoration (non-electrical), please leave a message here.

Closed Thread

Old 16th Oct 2022, 6:18 pm   #1
alfatangowhisky
Pentode

Default Stripping glossy style lacquer (2k / poly?) - success !!

Hello all

During the restoration of a Kolster Brandes KV002 (VC2 chassis based) dual standard TV set, I decided to tidy up the cabinet (scratches / dents / missing veneer) and set about trying various chemical stripping agents for the thick high-gloss lacquer.

This stuff appears to be some kind of 2-pack polyester as the smell when sanded reminds me of the time when as a student I made an art installation from 60s fibreglass shop-floor mannequins and when sawed up they gave this same distinctive smell. Having read that this coating is pretty much impossible to remove with standard (i.e. commercially available) chemicals such as acetone, thinners (toluene/xylene), etc etc I was resigned to either doing an over-coat job (as I had done on another KB set) or lots of sanding.

However, when I was at Toolstation for unrelated supplies I thought I would check out what sort of paint strippers they offered and was recommended 'Paint Panther' by the sales assistant. It was quite expensive but he said it was highly recommended and 'takes off almost anything'. We checked the tin for any mention of polyester and it was not listed but on his word I paid the money and took it home.

This is a gel-like formulation similar to many and had a PVC solvent type odour (that will be the MEK then). I applied a good slathering to the top of the woodwork (having isolated just the shell, of course) and left it overnight.