UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players

Notices

Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players Open-reel tape recorders, cassette recorders, 8-track players etc.

Closed Thread

Old 1st Jul 2022, 2:18 pm   #1
JoeZenit
Diode

Default ELPICO TR500 component identification

I have recently acquired an ELPICO TR500 which works fine except for volume decreasing as it gets hotter. Whilst having a look I found a destroyed WIMA 2200pF 1000v 500v 250v XX(b) 100Cm 10% capacitor attached to the speaker transformer. As I am new to Valve circuits and the high voltages i don't know what I should be trying to find to replace it. I can't seem to find anything close. Can anyone help?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20220701_133003.jpg
Views:	134
Size:	47.5 KB
ID:	260207  
Old 1st Jul 2022, 5:05 pm   #2
DMcMahon
Dekatron

Default Re: ELPICO TR500 component identification

Hello Joe and welcome to the Forum.

I have recently changed a very similar Wima capacitor, mine had 2 voltage ratings 1,000V and 500V, the higher voltage is the AC voltage rating I think, it is not directly relevant here but there is formula for converting AC voltage to DC, namely AC voltage divided by the square root of 2 (1.41) = DC voltage.

See Post # 6 of my linked Thread where mine is C30.

https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/...d.php?t=192169

Not sure why yours has a third voltage rating.

The capacitor across the output transformer primary often will have a AC voltage rating stated, whereas most standard capacitors often will only have a DC voltage rating.

Your 2,200pF (2,200 picofarad) is the same as 2.2nF (2.2 nanofarad), also the same as 0.0022uF (0.0022 microfarad).