UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Closed Thread

Old 12th Nov 2021, 5:23 pm   #1
safetyfirst
Triode

Default Panasonic DMR-E75V dead

I am a complete amateur so i apologize in advance. My Panasonic video/dvd recorder combo has suddenly packed up. Plug it in ,switch it on and ... nothing. No display at all. I watched a few videos and some of the cures seemed to be to switch out swollen capacitors. This i did but it made no difference. Any ideas?
Old 12th Nov 2021, 5:31 pm   #2
agardiner
Octode

Default Re: Panasonic DMR-E75V dead

Have you replace all the capacitors in the power supply? If not then you need to do this.

If it still doesn't work, what level of experience do you have in fault finding?
Old 15th Nov 2021, 11:07 am   #3
safetyfirst
Triode

Thank you very much for your reply and your advice. I am very much out on a limb here and know very little. I am just keen to learn what i can about a subject i know nothing!
I have changed the two capacitors arrowed in the attached picture - they were domed. I thought initially that the area within the hatched area on the circuit board was AC but i see there is a 400v capacitor in the mix and i think that is DC? it has a sort of moulded plastic around it - is that for insulation?
if i need to change them all, is that within the hatched area or the whole board?
when it comes to problem solving, i have a simple multimeter and can check continuity etc.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Panasonic DMR.jpg
Views:	256
Size:	107.2 KB
ID:	245828  
Old 17th Nov 2021, 3:06 pm   #4
agardiner
Octode