UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players

Notices

Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players Open-reel tape recorders, cassette recorders, 8-track players etc.

Closed Thread

Old 12th Mar 2023, 11:58 am   #1
tangoromeo
Triode

Default Philips N4520 / N4522 Power issue ?

Hello All

I am new to the forum and also new to this machine. I have the N4520 model but guess this applies to N4522 as well.

I am no expert with electronics but have previously worked on an old Akai reel to reel and managed to sort out some issues by identifying and replacing faulty components.

The issue with the Philips is that when Play, FF or RW is selected there does not seem to be enough power for all of the functions to operate correctly, e.g. sometimes the audio plays but mostly there is just a hum (using headphones). I also sometimes get a hum on FF and RW. The counter illuminates normally in stop mode but does not count and sometimes dims in other modes. Often it seems there is not enough power to operate the capstan solenoid so that even though the brakes release the tape passes across the heads in an uncontrolled way.

I am aware of issues being logged with the increased power demand of the motors and wonder if it may be related to that?

Assuming it to be a power supply issue I decided to start with panel 5B which I believe is related to the power distribution to the machine.

The voltages on the schematic checked out (ish) and I also checked them with the machine in Play mode. The results were as follows:-

Capstan speed 9.5 cm/sec
Stop mode 36v=35.1v. Play Mode =21.3v
Stop mode 18v=17.5v Play mode =9.87v
Stop mode 24v=23.8v Play Mode = 19.8v

Capstan speed 19 cm/sec
Stop mode 36v=34.8v Play mode =21.3v