UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players

Notices

Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players Open-reel tape recorders, cassette recorders, 8-track players etc.

Closed Thread

Old 2nd Aug 2021, 10:58 pm   #1
Gerry_Richards
Diode

Default Revox F36 take up motor unprompted motion!

Hello,

Complete newbie here so please bear with...

Curiosity and love of sound recording equipment has led me to acquire a Revox F36. It's partly functional but has the 2 following problems:

1. I can load, record and play back a tape but after about 5 minutes after powering up, the take-up motor starts to spin by itself. Also tested it today without a tape loaded and the same problem occurred - didn't press any buttons, just switched on and after about 5 mins the motor starts to spin up... Any theories as to why this is happening please?

2. Tried recording a basic stereo track and track 2 didn't record a signal even though the level meters were functioning - what would be the basic things to check first?

Many thanks in anticipation for any help you might offer....

Gerry
Old 2nd Aug 2021, 11:14 pm   #2
paulsherwin

Default Re: Revox F36 take up motor unprompted motion!

No offence meant, but these are complex semiprofessional recorders and almost 60 years old. If you have no expertise in this area you would be well advised to find a professional who can restore it for you. Members here can tell you basic things like 'clean the switch contacts with Servisol', but there are likely to be much more complex electronic and mechanical problems that will need attention.
Old 2nd Aug 2021, 11:31 pm   #3
Gerry_Richards
Diode