UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Closed Thread

Old 19th Nov 2010, 10:07 am   #1
IJK2008
Hexode

Default RGD1800 Line Drive Question

Hello

I am working on this set, second TV and complete beginner. I have no line whistle but have changed C35 and other wax caps in this part of the circuit and checked resistor values. All seem OK and I double checked my wiring to the schematic.

Checked voltage on grid of line output valve and it is 12V dc +ve. With meter connected the line whistle appeared.

Should the grid not be at a negative voltage? Also I don't understand what the connection is for between the cathode and grid via R57?

Thanks

Ian
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Extract _1800.pdf (96.2 KB, 128 views)
Old 19th Nov 2010, 1:02 pm   #2
Steve_P
Dekatron

Default Re: RGD1800 Line Drive Question

The voltage at the grid of the EL38 should be -ve. The first thing I would do is change C35. It is very much like THAT capacitor in a radio. Check your wiring.

The connection via R57 is to the width control via C39.

Might also be worth checking/changing the other capacitors in the area as well, as they will all be past their best.

There should be 250v on the screen grid of the EL38. It's worth having a spare EL38 to try as well. There appears to be two EY51's in this set, these are always worth checking too. Are they lit?

Also check that the resistors are within specification too.

Cheers,

Steve P.
Old 19th Nov 2010, 2:28 pm   #3
murphyv310
Dekatron

Hi Ian.
If you have replaced C35 and you have a positive voltage on the grid, R57 could be o/c or very high value, the EL38 may have a leak causing the positive grid voltage.