UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment

Notices

Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment For discussions about vintage test gear and workshop equipment such as coil winders.

Closed Thread

Old 15th Jun 2021, 10:40 pm   #1
Spencervs
Hexode

Default Signal generators

Does anyone know where (or if they have one to sell) I can find a signal generator that I can use to realign my radios? I'm quite new to the idea and currently my equipment is an AVO, DDM and a cap reformer I threw together. What would I need to realign my LW, MW, FM radios and how would I calibrate any generator that I may come across? This is all new territory for me!

Thanks,

Spencer
Old 15th Jun 2021, 10:48 pm   #2
Bazz4CQJ
Dekatron

Default Re: Signal generators

If you look on ebay, this item is the kind of thing that would suit you very well indeed https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/203493250...4AAOSw7YNgxvyD, though that exact one has the wrong frequency range. You need one that will go down to at least 1MHz, preferably 100kHz.

However, comparable generators usually sell for something around £50-60 I'd guess.

That type of generator is typical of those used in TV /Radio repair shops in the past. It's the kind of thing you might have been able to pick up at a good price at a radio rally, but they are mostly off until next year

B

Last edited by Bazz4CQJ; 15th Jun 2021 at 10:59 pm.
Old 16th Jun 2021, 2:33 pm   #3
Wendymott
Octode