UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Telephony and Telecomms

Notices

Vintage Telephony and Telecomms Vintage Telephones, Telephony and Telecomms Equipment

Closed Thread

Old 25th Aug 2011, 7:52 am   #1
davidhood999
Retired Dormant Member

Question GPO Telephone 328F.

Hi, I wonder if anyone can help. I bought one of these phones from a carboot for not a lot of money so that I could convert and restore it, having successfully done the same with a BT 706 not so long ago.

I am new to the 'old telephones scene' and I thought I'd try my luck. I have replaced the line and handset wires accordingly, leaving the green wires out as per instructions on the British Telephones website; http://www.britishtelephones.com/pstconv1.htm#332.

The problem I am having is it will not dial out. I have pestered the poor man who's site it is, and both him and me are baffled as to why this is. I have also obtained another dial for this phone and tried that but to no avail. Does anyone have any idea how I can make it work? To complicate matters further, the handset did not work when it was wired according to the instructions, but when I moved the blue handset wire from T4 to T6 it worked perfectly. Hmmmmmm.
Old 25th Aug 2011, 12:23 pm   #2
Darren-UK
Retired Dormant Member

Default Re: GPO 328F.

Here is the original wiring diagram. I'd suggest comparing this against the instrument's current state and in accordance with the conversion instructions. Bear in mind changes of wiring colours, of course.

I suspect the instrument's been messed with prior to you obtaining it. Why did you change the handset cord? was a modern/non standard cord fitted?

Does the instrument work as it should for incoming calls and do you get the dial tone?
Old 25th Aug 2011, 10:15 pm   #3
BakeliteBear
Pentode

Default Re: Gpo 328f.