UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment

Notices

Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment For discussions about vintage test gear and workshop equipment such as coil winders.

Closed Thread

Old 2nd Jul 2020, 12:51 pm   #1
DonaldStott
Octode

Default Farnell 30-4D Oscilloscope - Help with Repair

I bought my Farnell 30-4D 'scope (a re-badged Scopex 4D-25) from a Forum member some time ago and it has served me well over the last few years but recently it decided to stop working!

It powers up ok and the red light comes on but there is nothing whatsoever on the screen? I'm fairly familiar with using the controls and settings but there is simply no display?

I have the User Manual and managed to remove the top and bottom covers but stopped there as I have no experience with repairing 'scopes so haven't a clue where to start! Those big 500V capacitors scared me!!!

So any help for a complete novice would be greatly appreciated.
Old 2nd Jul 2020, 5:08 pm   #2
OldTechFan96
Octode

Default Re: Farnell 30-4D Oscilloscope - Help with Repair

Hello,

I had one of these for a short period a few years ago. It is what pushed me to join this forum! One of the problems was an open diode in the EHT section.

The blank screen could be due to a lack of EHT. I'd start checking the chain of diodes in the EHT multiplier with the diode check mode on your DMM. It is the board on the left.

I've had a mixed luck with testing diodes in circuit. Sometimes it may be better to lift a leg then test.
Old 2nd Jul 2020, 7:32 pm   #3
DonaldStott
Octode