UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 11th Jan 2021, 12:23 pm   #1
DonaldStott
Octode

Default Bush DAC90A - Very Low Volume

I've been inspired by David's (David G4EBT) tenacity with his DAC90A Front End Woes to look again at my own DAC90A which I eventually got working, after a fashion, but which has sat on a shelf over the Christmas and New Year period! I glowered at it most days in the naive hope that somehow it would be cowed into submission - alas, no joy.

I have restored a number of DAC90As and DAC10s so I am somewhat familiar with the circuit layout and most of the common faults although I am no expert by any means!

What I have done to get it working was to replace the faulty on/off switch volume control with a new Bowood Electronics 470K log switched pot, replaced the Output Transformer with a rewound job from Ed Dinning, replaced the usual coupling capacitors and replaced lots of crumbling wiring around the Dropper before powering up. So far, so good and when it was switched on it sprang into life albeit with very low volume with the knob turned to max?

I replaced all the old paper caps one at a time along with any resistors which were 20% over tolerance and made the Pin 4 modifications to the UL41 but none of this work had any impact on the volume level?

I also replaced all valves, one at a time, from a known working set - even with all five valves substituted the volume remains very low?