UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 21st Mar 2023, 5:39 pm   #1
MyGiveA
Diode

Default HMV 2030 audio output to tape cassette

Hi all,
I'm a newbie to all things turntable.
I'm trying to help out an old couple that have the HMV 2030 record player and they would like to record onto an old tape cassette recorder.

I've attached images to aid understanding of the equipment they have.

Question:-

What type of audio connectors does this HMV 2030 front panel use?

Is the front panel TAPE connection for audio out to a external tape recorder?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	53.9 KB
ID:	275486   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	56.3 KB
ID:	275487   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	43.5 KB
ID:	275488   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_8.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	33.6 KB
ID:	275489   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	60.6 KB
ID:	275490  

Old 21st Mar 2023, 5:53 pm   #2
dazzlevision
Dekatron

Default Re: HMV 2030 audio output to tape cassette

Looking at the 2030's circuit diagram, the Tape, Stereo and Radio sockets on the record player accept a 3.5mm mono Jack plug. The Tape socket is an output signal, for recording the record being played.

Use the cassette tape recorder's 5 pin, 180 degree, DIN socket to connect the output from the record player - don't use the microphone socket, as the signal from the record player would overload it and cause distortion on the tape recording.