UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Amateur and Military Radio

Notices

Vintage Amateur and Military Radio Amateur/military receivers and transmitters, morse, and any other related vintage comms equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 25th Jun 2021, 7:49 pm   #1
spycatcher
Diode

Default Aerial attenuator?

Hi Guys, I'm quite new to amateur radio and have bought some 70's equipment i intend refurbishing in my retirement the item in the pic was with the rest of the gear and I'm not quite sure exactly what it is, i think its an aerial attenuator but not sure. i would appreciate any comments, cheers
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	aerial attenuator.jpg
Views:	245
Size:	65.4 KB
ID:	236438  
Old 25th Jun 2021, 8:08 pm   #2
Station X

Default Re: Aerial attenuator?

Looks more like an aerial matching unit to me.

Reach for your meter before you reach for your soldering iron.
Old 25th Jun 2021, 8:23 pm   #3
Radio Wrangler

It's a variable inductor of a type called a "Roller-Coaster" and is used in aerial matching units on the outputs of transmitters. It's a medium sized one likely to be 20 to 50uH at the maximum end and suited to a transmitter of up to a few hundred watts, though the power depends on the ATU settings.

They're quite sought after. Good ones have silver plated wire and a silver plated contact wheel. Very good ones have a sintered metal contact block like yours.

It looks to have been made into a low power aerial tuning unit. Those transistor radio variable capacitors will limit the whole thing to a few watts.

David
Old 26th Jun 2021, 10:34 am   #4
spycatcher
Diode