UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Telephony and Telecomms

Notices

Vintage Telephony and Telecomms Vintage Telephones, Telephony and Telecomms Equipment

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th May 2020, 8:29 pm   #41
Dave Moll
Dekatron
 
Dave Moll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Cumbria (CA13), UK
Posts: 4,672
Default Re: Quiet or no dial tone in a GPO 706

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparks View Post
Apart from the straps from T19/18/17/16, the only connection from T19 is a green wire going to a (I think) capacitor.
According to diagram N806, T19 (A leg via T18) connects to terminal 5 of the switch hook.

edit: Via T17 and T16, it also connects to one end of the bell.
__________________
Mending is better than Ending (cf Brave New World by Aldous Huxley)
Dave Moll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2020, 8:42 pm   #42
Sparks
Hexode
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 349
Default Re: Quiet or no dial tone in a GPO 706

You're absolutely right Dave. I hope this is something of a breakthrough!
Sparks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2020, 8:57 pm   #43
WayneL74
Triode
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, UK.
Posts: 42
Default Re: Quiet or no dial tone in a GPO 706

Can you now test between T19 & the ASTIC pin 4. It should be a low reading with the switchhooks up & no reading (normally 1. on a digital multimeter) with them down.

If this is the case then you should have continuity from T3 to T19

Last edited by WayneL74; 17th May 2020 at 8:59 pm. Reason: Possible error
WayneL74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2020, 9:05 pm   #44
Sparks
Hexode
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 349
Default Re: Quiet or no dial tone in a GPO 706

Nothing Wayne. The meter doesn't change from 1 with switch up or down.
Sparks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2020, 9:27 pm   #45
WayneL74
Triode
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, UK.
Posts: 42
Default Re: Quiet or no dial tone in a GPO 706

Then this does point to the gravity hook switch or its wiring.

I'm wondering if this is intermittant as the test you did in post 3 between T19 & the brown dial showed continuity.

Do you have any switch cleaner (eg Servisol 10)?

If so I suggest you spray some on a piece of cardboard & run through the contacts again as this seems to be the issue.

Regards,

Wayne
WayneL74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2020, 10:03 pm   #46
Sparks
Hexode
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 349
Default Re: Quiet or no dial tone in a GPO 706

I'll give them another clean Wayne. In the meantime, can you tell me if all the gravity switches are active and or/relevant with this particular phone, bearing in mind there is no dial ? Ta.
Sparks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2020, 10:30 pm   #47
Sparks
Hexode
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 349
Default Re: Quiet or no dial tone in a GPO 706

Still no change after a thorough clean. When the phone is off-hook and there should be a dial tone, the green and brown wires on the switch are connected, likewise the blue and grey. The orange wire is not connected.

Green goes to T7.
Brown goes to the ASTIC only.
Blue goes to T2.
Grey goes to T1.
Orange goes to T5.

T2 and T1 are also the earphone connections in the handset, which theoretically means they would be shorted together when the handset is off hook, hence quiet dial tone. But it wouldn't explain the high side tone.

A real mystery. Thankyou again for your assistance Wayne. I'm going to sleep on this and have another crack tomorrow. Goodnight.
Sparks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2020, 10:36 pm   #48
WayneL74
Triode
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, UK.
Posts: 42
Default Re: Quiet or no dial tone in a GPO 706

The same hookswitch contacts are used whether there is a dial fitted on not

You need to make sure both sets of contacts that are touching which the hookswitch are up are clean.

Then repeat the continuity test between T19 and ASTIC pin 4. Keep cleaning until you get reliable repeatable results

Last edited by WayneL74; 17th May 2020 at 10:38 pm. Reason: Spelling mistake
WayneL74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2020, 8:05 am   #49
Sparks
Hexode
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 349
Default Re: Quiet or no dial tone in a GPO 706

The switch contacts are clean as a whistle and all fully functional. The T19 aspect is puzzling me. How does this terminal connect to pin 4 on the ASTIC ? I assume there must be an indirect route because, as I noted upthread, the only direct connection to T19 is a green wire going to a capacitor.
Sparks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2020, 8:16 am   #50
TonyDuell
Dekatron
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Biggin Hill, London, UK.
Posts: 3,822
Default Re: Quiet or no dial tone in a GPO 706

There shouldn't be a capacitor connected to T19.

You aren't confusing T9 (right hand terminal in the top row) with T19 (right hand terminal in the bottom row) are you? T9 goes to one side of the 1.8uF capacitor.

What is connected to terminal 4 of the ASTIC? What colour of wire. Trace it (using the meter) to a terminal on the gravity switch (that's where it should go). It's labelled as terminal 4 of the gravity switch in N806, but no idea how the terminals ar numbered. Now find the other terminal on the gravity switch which connects to it when the handset is off-rest. Terminal 5 in N806. What colour of wire is connected there? Where does it go? It should be T19.
TonyDuell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2020, 9:54 am   #51
Sparks
Hexode
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 349
Default Re: Quiet or no dial tone in a GPO 706

Hello Tony. I'm definitely OK with T9 and T19. There is a brown wire going from T9 to the capacitor and a green wire from T19 to the capacitor, as per the photo below. Admittedly the position of this green wire makes it look like an addition or alteration but I can't say for certain.

There is a brown wire from Pin 4 of the ASTIC to the gravity switch, second from the right in the photo below. It connects to a green wire ( far right of the switch) which goes to T7, not T19. I wonder if this green wire and the green from the capacitor have been accidentally transposed ?
Sparks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2020, 9:56 am   #52
Sparks
Hexode
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 349
Default Re: Quiet or no dial tone in a GPO 706

Pictures as per above post.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200518_094307.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	49.4 KB
ID:	206131   Click image for larger version

Name:	20200518_094328.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	77.2 KB
ID:	206132   Click image for larger version

Name:	20200518_094918.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	69.5 KB
ID:	206133  
Sparks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2020, 10:04 am   #53
Sparks
Hexode
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 349
Default Re: Quiet or no dial tone in a GPO 706

I have to go out now but I shall look in again a bit later this morning. Many thanks everyone.
Sparks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2020, 10:38 am   #54
Dave Moll
Dekatron
 
Dave Moll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Cumbria (CA13), UK
Posts: 4,672
Default Re: Quiet or no dial tone in a GPO 706

It sounds as though the two green wires have indeed been transposed. Try swapping them over and see what effect that has.

One side of that double capacitor (1.8μF) should go between T9 and T7, while the other (0.9μF) should go between T10 and one end of R2. I have confirmed this to be the case by looking at the innards of a 706 I have. None of the capacitor's connections should go to T19. That side of the gravity switch should go between T19 and the induction coil.
__________________
Mending is better than Ending (cf Brave New World by Aldous Huxley)
Dave Moll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2020, 11:16 am   #55
Sparks
Hexode
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 349
Default Re: Quiet or no dial tone in a GPO 706

Success finally! It was indeed those two green wires being arse about face that caused all this probing and head scratching. Thankyou enormously everyone for your kind patience and persistence.
Sparks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2020, 12:11 pm   #56
Nickthedentist
Dekatron
 
Nickthedentist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oxford, UK.
Posts: 14,941
Default Re: Quiet or no dial tone in a GPO 706

Well done everyone! There's very little that goes wrong with these other than wiring faults.
Nickthedentist is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2020, 12:37 pm   #57
Sparks
Hexode
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 349
Default Re: Quiet or no dial tone in a GPO 706

I was thinking the same the other day, Nick. These old phones are well built with few components but an awful lot of wires crammed into a small space. The odd wiring defect has to be expected, especially with two wires of the same colour.
Sparks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2020, 1:32 pm   #58
pip5678
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 81
Default Re: Quiet or no dial tone in a GPO 706

Great news Sparks, sounds like your phone is a victim of der Gerfingerpoker, I can put the diagram away now. Cheers Pip
pip5678 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2020, 2:23 pm   #59
Dave Moll
Dekatron
 
Dave Moll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Cumbria (CA13), UK
Posts: 4,672
Default Re: Quiet or no dial tone in a GPO 706

Glad you're now sorted. Well spotted that there were two green wires transposed.

I too have returned my file of diagrams to the shelf!
__________________
Mending is better than Ending (cf Brave New World by Aldous Huxley)
Dave Moll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2020, 3:39 pm   #60
Sparks
Hexode
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 349
Default Re: Quiet or no dial tone in a GPO 706

Thanks pip and Dave. I think that's all for conversions for now. Just waiting for the wall bracket.
Sparks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 9:44 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2020, Paul Stenning.