UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Computers

Notices

Vintage Computers Any vintage computer systems, calculators, video games etc., but with an emphasis on 1980s and earlier equipment.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 3rd Jun 2021, 1:04 pm   #21
Michael Haardt
Triode
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Titz, Germany.
Posts: 17
Default Re: New SC/MP II system

That was certainly a reason, along with the fact that Tiny BASIC was free and offered enough to easily write simple programs.

Writing a good virtual machine is a really hard task. There have been a few and most of them are rather slow, because they resemble real machines or follow some pure model, which causes lots of overhead. One of the best VMs I have seen is https://github.com/AcheronVM/acheronvm , targeting the 6502, but the design itself is inspiring. There is a nice presentation on Youtube. It is neither a virtual stack machine, nor a virtual register machine, but a great hybrid that avoids much addressing overhead, as stack VMs do, and offers the dataflow advantage of register VMs. A SC/MP port would probably be as slow as NIBL, but it might still be fun.

Michael
Michael Haardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jun 2021, 5:04 pm   #22
Oldtube
Diode
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Montrouge town, one mile south of Paris, France.
Posts: 7
Default Re: New SC/MP II system

Bonjour

What a surprise..looking across the forum, find a subject about the SC-MP...

I have this kit for now 45 years...this is the first model, with the ASR33 teletype...heavy weight...noisy but funny although quite few memory...in the past i add a couple of ram for...768 octets...

Now i will look carefully at all post

Claude F2FO
Oldtube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jun 2021, 10:34 pm   #23
Mark1960
Heptode
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 674
Default Re: New SC/MP II system

Hello Claude and welcome to what might be the last hangout for enthusiasts of the SCMP.

Perhaps you could start a new thread and try to post some pictures of your system, there may be a minimum number of posts before you are allowed to add attachments, and there will probably be a delay for your first few posts to be reviewed by a moderator.
Mark1960 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jun 2021, 10:44 pm   #24
SiriusHardware
Dekatron
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Newcastle, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 7,310
Default Re: New SC/MP II system

Hello Claude, welcome.

If you expand your search to include 'MK14' which was a well known SC/MP based micro 'trainer' system here in the UK you will find more SC/MP related posts on this forum than you can read in one lifetime.
SiriusHardware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jun 2021, 11:24 am   #25
Timbucus
Octode
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Barry, Vale of Glamorgan, Wales, UK.
Posts: 1,091
Default Re: New SC/MP II system

Yes welcome Claude a new post with some photographs of your system will be appreciated. Long live SC/MP...
Timbucus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jun 2021, 2:33 pm   #26
Oldtube
Diode
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Montrouge town, one mile south of Paris, France.
Posts: 7
Default Re: New SC/MP II system

>Bonjour
I will try a reply to your question
My kit is from 1976 and the problem was to find the asr33. finally get it four time the cost of the kit, but with the three 'grey' technical manuals
Assembling was not a problem as i use ttl and new cmos circuit
But....quite a long moment to understand how connect the kit to the tty
By chance, no error, and everything goes nice at the first power on
In reality it was,this time a very long moment before the PTR1 (or 2)do as i expect...learn the 'fantasy' of the 'status registef' ....and so on
After near an half century...no regret...programming in 'machine code' step by step is the best way...before assembly and others exotic langage
With only 256 octets of ram the things were rapidly 'short'...so with two more pairs of 2112 ram i can go from 0500 to 07FF...with some 'naval battle' or a 'mastermind' which use a lotde paper on the tty.je
I will try to post a pair of pictures
Claude F2FO
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	iINTROKIT-1.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	95.1 KB
ID:	236731   Click image for larger version

Name:	ASR33-2.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	77.7 KB
ID:	236732  
Oldtube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jun 2021, 4:36 pm   #27
Slothie
Octode
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Newbury, Berkshire, UK.
Posts: 1,075
Default Re: New SC/MP II system

I must confess to being insanely jealous of your ASR33!
Slothie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Jun 2021, 1:25 pm   #28
Oldtube
Diode
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Montrouge town, one mile south of Paris, France.
Posts: 7
Default Re: New SC/MP II system

Bonjour
The question about the pair asr33-sc-mp is what to do with...
Near nothing serious...except some oil in the machine ...and play with.

Ask the sc-mp for a 'secret message' from....F2FO
Devotely, it cut, mix the cards plus some mysterious step before printing some hieroglyphs ......j6G/+@;?Z8(=....around 30 'things' coding 4 letters one digit.
Crazy and unreadable.?....not so sure...

Send the message to the 'poor man' enigma machine


Claude
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Overview.JPG
Views:	45
Size:	151.9 KB
ID:	236806   Click image for larger version

Name:	TÍte Impression.JPG
Views:	46
Size:	142.8 KB
ID:	236807   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bande perfo..JPG
Views:	48
Size:	126.7 KB
ID:	236808   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lecteur-Perfo..JPG
Views:	40
Size:	150.5 KB
ID:	236809  
Oldtube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2021, 5:00 pm   #29
Michael Haardt
Triode
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Titz, Germany.
Posts: 17
Default Re: New SC/MP II system

Hello Claude,

what's in the ROM of your system? Kitbug? Is that an INS 8050?

I know the joy of having 256 bytes of memory, because my first computer had two 2112 RAMs (Elektor SC/MP system with a Z80 instead of SC/MP).

The mastermind program published in Elektor uses the HEXIO board from the Elektor SC/MP system and needs more than 256 bytes. I thought about building a version of HEXIO by replacing unobtainable TTL ICs with current parts.

Unfortunately many Elektor programs from the first vinyl disk appear to be lost, because Elektor never published them on paper.

Michael
Michael Haardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2021, 5:50 pm   #30
Mark1960
Heptode
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 674
Default Re: New SC/MP II system

Hi Michael,

Please do not make the mistake of thinking an INS8050 is an SC/MP I, instead it is a National semiconductor version on the Intel 8050, a mask programmed microcontroller, though it can be used with external memory.

It does look like Claude has a nice ceramic SC/MP I.

Mark
Mark1960 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2021, 6:00 pm   #31
Michael Haardt
Triode
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Titz, Germany.
Posts: 17
Default Re: New SC/MP II system

That's news to me, but looking it up indeed NS always calls the SC/MP I officially ISP-8A/500D and the SC/MP II is called INS8060. Amazing, I saw INS8050 mentioned as name of the SC/MP I in many places, but I can't find that name being used by NS. Confusing!

Ages ago I got a MCS-48 data sheet when asking for a SC/MP datasheet. Finally I know why that happened.

Michael
Michael Haardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2021, 6:07 pm   #32
Slothie
Octode
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Newbury, Berkshire, UK.
Posts: 1,075
Default Re: New SC/MP II system

Its made even more confusing because the SC/MP 3 was the 8070 series!
Slothie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2021, 6:39 pm   #33
Michael Haardt
Triode
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Titz, Germany.
Posts: 17
Default Re: New SC/MP II system

I know, with many new instructions and the INS 8073 had NIBL in a builtin ROM. But those are really rare. The SC/MP II can still be obtained on ebay and only needs +5 V, which is why my CPU card uses that version.

Michael
Michael Haardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2021, 7:18 pm   #34
Mark1960
Heptode
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 674
Default Re: New SC/MP II system

Has anyone ever seen an SC/MP I in a plastic DIL? I don’t remember seeing these anywhere, so just wodering if they were only ever available in ceramic.
Mark1960 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2021, 8:16 pm   #35
Timbucus
Octode
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Barry, Vale of Glamorgan, Wales, UK.
Posts: 1,091
Default Re: New SC/MP II system

I have not in the few images I have found - and all the ones I know of seem to be ceramic.
Timbucus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2021, 8:39 pm   #36
Michael Haardt
Triode
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Titz, Germany.
Posts: 17
Default Re: New SC/MP II system

The SC/MP 1 datasheet only lists a ceramic package, whereas the SC/MP 2 datasheet lists both plastic and ceramic.

Michael
Michael Haardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Aug 2021, 3:55 pm   #37
Oldtube
Diode
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Montrouge town, one mile south of Paris, France.
Posts: 7
Default Re: New SC/MP II system

Bonjour

The ROM is MM5214 or MM5204….the micro P Channel ISP-8A 500

This by memory as I am on holidays for a month.

Regards
F2FO
Oldtube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Aug 2021, 9:07 pm   #38
Michael Haardt
Triode
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Titz, Germany.
Posts: 17
Default Re: New SC/MP II system

I finally finished a simple boot ROM for the CPUSCMP card and uploaded it, along with some diagnostic programs for the card:

http://www.moria.de/tech/scmp/software/

Michael
Michael Haardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Sep 2021, 10:13 pm   #39
Mark1960
Heptode
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 674
Default Re: New SC/MP II system

Hi Michael,

I keep meaning to come back and look at your project link in more detail, but got distracted by something else. I just noticed nobody else replied yet, so just wanted to make sure you knew it wasn’t because we didn’t find it interesting, just busy on something else.

Mark
Mark1960 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Sep 2021, 11:10 am   #40
Timbucus
Octode
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Barry, Vale of Glamorgan, Wales, UK.
Posts: 1,091
Default Re: New SC/MP II system

Yes indeed good point Mark - I also read all that is posted with interest but, usually unless I have a contribution I keep quiet - which is unusual for me.
Timbucus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT. The time now is 3:01 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2021, Paul Stenning.