UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > General Vintage Technology Discussions

Notices

General Vintage Technology Discussions For general discussions about vintage radio and other vintage electronics etc.

Closed Thread

Old 9th Jan 2015, 8:13 pm   #1
Neanderthal
Retired Dormant Member

Default Ex TV Engineers

Hello. I was a domestic TV engineer from 1952 to 1980. I'm sure there are many ex engineers on the forum. I invite discussion on various topics regarding TV engineering and share experiences from both field and bench work. Strange faults, amusing events, DX TV and whole lot more that made up the life of a TV engineer, and you could say we're a breed that's now virtually died out.
Old 10th Jan 2015, 3:16 pm   #2
ms660
Dekatron

Default Re: Ex TV Engineers

Yep, for my sins I was a TV engineer, but I'm better now...1964 to 1986, not taken the back off a telly since, don't want to either.

Lawrence.
Old 10th Jan 2015, 3:55 pm   #3
Neanderthal
Retired Dormant Member

Hi Lawrence. I got out of the TV trade in 1981, then worked on the markets selling haberdashery until retirement in 2000. You did well to stay until 1986, TVs were well on the way to becoming computers by then. The last one I dismantled was a couple of years ago when someone fly tipped an enomous tube TV on my allotment. Beastly job, but got a little scrap out of it, at least there was a degaussing coil, plus the scanning yoke.
I don't watch much TV now, I find so many pictures out of focus, not to mention dark and murky scenes. Reckon we've known better times.
Mike.
Old 10th Jan 2015, 5:28 pm   #4
ms660
Dekatron

Certainly lots of changes, when I started it was almost all valves in TV's, the first hybrid I worked on was the Bush TV135 I seem to remember.

405/625 sets became popular back then, all them grotty system switches.