UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Offered and Wanted Messages > Sets, Parts and Service Information Wanted (private buyers only, no swaps)

Notices

Sets, Parts and Service Information Wanted (private buyers only, no swaps) If you need help obtaining components, sets or equipment, post a message here. Private buyers only - no traders. No swaps.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 8th May 2021, 10:02 am   #1
David Simpson
Nonode
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Aberdeen, UK.
Posts: 2,477
Default "Master" Factory Clock

Wanted please - an original Master clock to drive a couple of 12" Slave clocks. I've a thread currently running on a 1940's/50's IBM 3 wire 24V Slave clock.

Regards, David
David Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2021, 10:05 am   #2
Cobaltblue
Moderator
 
Cobaltblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Exeter, Devon and Poole, Dorset UK.
Posts: 4,988
Default Re: "Master" Factory Clock

I don't know if you saw this one?

https://www.facebook.com/marketplace...7-ebabab84edaa

Cheers

Mike T
__________________
Don't care if it was a bargain why's it in my kitchen
Mike T BVWS member.
www.cossor.co.uk
Cobaltblue is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2021, 10:24 am   #3
M0FYA Andy
Nonode
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Preston, Lancashire, UK.
Posts: 2,236
Default Re: "Master" Factory Clock

The linked clock provides 30 second impulses, does the IBM system require 60 second impulses?
M0FYA Andy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2021, 10:56 am   #4
KeithsTV
Nonode
 
KeithsTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South Bradford, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 2,436
Default Re: "Master" Factory Clock

There is a master clock designed to drive several different types of slave clock, the Microquartz 6 originally designed by Bodet but was available as a Gent badged version. It also has an input to connect a DCF 77 or the Franche Inter receiver (both use the same data format).

I've attached the instruction manual (in both French and English)

Keith
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Microquartz.pdf (1.79 MB, 42 views)
KeithsTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2021, 11:38 am   #5
David Simpson
Nonode
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Aberdeen, UK.
Posts: 2,477
Default Re: "Master" Factory Clock

Thanks guys for replies. Mike - the Facebook link one down in Hereford -wanting £400 ! Na na. Looks of superb museum quality, though.
This slave I have(which cost nowt to scrounge from an empty factory) just requires one pulse a minute to energise the solenoid & fully rotate the minute hand 360 deg. to complete the hour. For my test I just speeded things up by temp connecting my 24V supply approx. every 5 seconds(and doing polarity reversals) - works a treat.
In the other thread I've already been given website details for a modern electronic pulse kit costing between 60 & 70 ish quid.

Regards, David
David Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2021, 1:16 pm   #6
Pamphonica
Nonode
 
Pamphonica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Virginia Water, Surrey, UK.
Posts: 2,153
Default Re: "Master" Factory Clock

A 6v transformer (for power plus 50Hz signal), plus a 74LS390 (div by 50) and maybe an FET to drive the signal, might do you. Alternatively, go mad and use an Arduino.
https://sound-au.com/clocks/arduino.html
Give me a call and we'll see what's in Bilko South stores!
-Jeremy
__________________
Jeremy, G8MLK, BVWTVM Friend, VMARS, BVWS Secretary.
www.pamphonic.co.uk www.bttt.org.uk
Pamphonica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2021, 1:41 pm   #7
AC/HL
Dekatron
 
AC/HL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Heckmondwike, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 9,268
Default Re: "Master" Factory Clock

I have one here, a Blick. A true factory clock, unrestored and as found. It's complete (the pendulum is stored separately) and undamaged with a full length glass door. Not one of your boutique clocks though. It's buried in back of the garage, hence the poor photo, but I can extract it if you'd like better photos. I bought it on a whim, but have never touched it or had it running.
The big problem would be carriage though. It would be quite specialised with the height and weight. PM me if you're interested.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20210508_141357[1].jpg
Views:	108
Size:	42.0 KB
ID:	233547  
__________________
Bill, BVWS member
AC/HL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2021, 2:03 pm   #8
Radio Wrangler
Moderator
 
Radio Wrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Fife, Scotland, UK.
Posts: 17,917
Default Re: "Master" Factory Clock

If normality breaks out this summer, I'm likely to be down visiting the family sometime. I have a new great nephew I've never met. (Son of the nephew you have met, Bill)

Also sometime in the summer, I fancy heading up to the north east of Scotland and maybe right round the top and back down the west side.

So I could be able to fix the transport problem, assuming there's no hurry!

David
__________________
Can't afford the volcanic island yet, but the plans for my monorail and the goons' uniforms are done
Radio Wrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2021, 2:06 pm   #9
PJL
Dekatron
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Seaford, East Sussex, UK.
Posts: 5,007
Default Re: "Master" Factory Clock

There seems to be collectors of these that have set a high price for them. My local auction has been selling off what I assume was a collection over the last month or so and they fetch £600+, even a rusty old slave clock that I presume was 'special' went for over £800 and that's before the 34% commission. I had planned to put one in our kitchen and use an ESP32 to drive it as you could sync it to the network time. Got as far as reading the time and checking external interrupts could be used for 50Hz input then the slave clocks at the auction with estimates of £30 went for £200...
PJL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2021, 4:05 pm   #10
M0FYA Andy
Nonode
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Preston, Lancashire, UK.
Posts: 2,236
Default Re: "Master" Factory Clock

Quote:
Originally Posted by AC/HL View Post
I have one here, a Blick. A true factory clock, unrestored and as found. It's complete (the pendulum is stored separately) and undamaged with a full length glass door. Not one of your boutique clocks though. It's buried in back of the garage, hence the poor photo, but I can extract it if you'd like better photos. I bought it on a whim, but have never touched it or had it running.
The big problem would be carriage though. It would be quite specialised with the height and weight. PM me if you're interested.
Looking at the picture, I suggest that is a Gents Pulsynetic Master (they supplied clocks to Blick and others), so unlikely to provide a 60 second 24v output, although not impossible. More detailed pictures would be required.

Andy
M0FYA Andy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2021, 5:21 pm   #11
David Simpson
Nonode
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Aberdeen, UK.
Posts: 2,477
Default Re: "Master" Factory Clock

Quote:
Originally Posted by PJL View Post
There seems to be collectors of these that have set a high price for them. My local auction has been selling off what I assume was a collection over the last month or so and they fetch £600+, even a rusty old slave clock that I presume was 'special' went for over £800 and that's before the 34% commission. I had planned to put one in our kitchen and use an ESP32 to drive it as you could sync it to the network time. Got as far as reading the time and checking external interrupts could be used for 50Hz input then the slave clocks at the auction with estimates of £30 went for £200...
Trouble is(although I much prefer "Salvage Hunters" to "The Repair Shop"), I bemoan the fact that Drew Pritchard's endeavours have maybe pushed up prices for quite a few collectables. Factory Clocks have featured in several of his programs(latest + repeats), and he always heffing replaces slave clock movements with modern quartz fitments. Then asks even heffing bigger prices for the end product - which "Gavin" has merely waxed over the rusty or corroded "patina" !
Anyway, whatever the outcome of this IBM slave - at least I can be proud of the hours of elbow grease I've lovingly put into the nice brown bakelite exterior.

Regards, David
David Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2021, 2:25 pm   #12
AC/HL
Dekatron
 
AC/HL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Heckmondwike, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 9,268
Default Re: "Master" Factory Clock

More photos of the Blick. It measures 130 x 40 x 30 cm and is seriously heavy! As far as I know it's a 30 second current loop type, hence the rheostat.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20210509_142849[1].jpg
Views:	62
Size:	69.2 KB
ID:	233650   Click image for larger version

Name:	20210509_143002[1].jpg
Views:	58
Size:	65.1 KB
ID:	233651   Click image for larger version

Name:	20210509_143115[1].jpg
Views:	55
Size:	56.5 KB
ID:	233652   Click image for larger version

Name:	20210509_143201[1].jpg
Views:	60
Size:	51.9 KB
ID:	233653   Click image for larger version

Name:	20210509_143243[1].jpg
Views:	47
Size:	46.3 KB
ID:	233654  

__________________
Bill, BVWS member
AC/HL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2021, 2:35 pm   #13
AC/HL
Dekatron
 
AC/HL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Heckmondwike, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 9,268
Default Re: "Master" Factory Clock

And with pendulum. There is a small packet of regulating weights, which are dog-eared enough to be original. Apologies for the mobile phone images, I didn't inherit my Father's photography gene!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20210509_152022[1].jpg
Views:	56
Size:	65.4 KB
ID:	233655   Click image for larger version

Name:	20210509_152147[1].jpg
Views:	52
Size:	30.4 KB
ID:	233657   Click image for larger version

Name:	20210509_152200[1].jpg
Views:	52
Size:	23.3 KB
ID:	233658   Click image for larger version

Name:	20210509_152537[1].jpg
Views:	56
Size:	52.9 KB
ID:	233659  
__________________
Bill, BVWS member
AC/HL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2021, 2:42 pm   #14
M0FYA Andy
Nonode
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Preston, Lancashire, UK.
Posts: 2,236
Default Re: "Master" Factory Clock

That is very interesting. It is indeed a Gents Pulsynetic master, or 'Time Transmitter' in Gents parlance, but with two extras. Gents specialised in all sorts of oddball extra features to suit customer requirements.
The microswitch on a bracket in front of the countwheel, and the push-button labelled 'push to advance minute impulse circuit' indicate that as well as the 30-second loop it has an output for 60-second slave dials. It would be worthwhile you investigating just how it is wired. It may be that the microswitch simply closes briefly every 60 seconds, requiring an additional voltage source to operate the 60-second dials.

Is there any chance of a photo of the label inside the top left of the cabinet, please?

Andy
M0FYA Andy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2021, 2:44 pm   #15
M0FYA Andy
Nonode
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Preston, Lancashire, UK.
Posts: 2,236
Default Re: "Master" Factory Clock

Those weights are quite rare, they usually go missing!

Andy
M0FYA Andy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2021, 3:18 pm   #16
David Simpson
Nonode
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Aberdeen, UK.
Posts: 2,477
Default Re: "Master" Factory Clock

Many thanks to Bill for all the excellent pictures.
Andy - is this Gents model a 24V version, or dual voltage ? I'm seriously crossing my fingers that its compatible with the 24V, 60 sec., 3wire IBM Slave !
Last week, all I was going to do was look at & clean up a pal's old factory clock. Now - Jesus - my old vintage analogue electronics brain has been opened up to an electro-mechanical scenario I hardly knew existed.

Regards, David
David Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2021, 3:37 pm   #17
AC/HL
Dekatron
 
AC/HL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Heckmondwike, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 9,268
Default Re: "Master" Factory Clock

More photos.
The terminals at the top appear to be labelled both 30 seconds and 1 minute, but the slave dial is definitely 30 second impulses.
Note the resident in the middle photo!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20210509_160255[1].jpg
Views:	56
Size:	92.2 KB
ID:	233663   Click image for larger version

Name:	20210509_155922[1].jpg
Views:	61
Size:	85.2 KB
ID:	233664   Click image for larger version

Name:	20210509_160133[1].jpg
Views:	53
Size:	37.1 KB
ID:	233665  
__________________
Bill, BVWS member
AC/HL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2021, 3:56 pm   #18
M0FYA Andy
Nonode
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Preston, Lancashire, UK.
Posts: 2,236
Default Re: "Master" Factory Clock

It looks to me like a standard current loop (220mA) for the transmitter and pilot dial, 12 volts will probably be enough but 24 volts with the rheostat set suitably, with the addition of the microswitch operating every 60 seconds.

Andy
M0FYA Andy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2021, 4:11 pm   #19
Robsradio
Hexode
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Isle of Wight, UK.
Posts: 275
Default Re: "Master" Factory Clock

Quote:
Originally Posted by AC/HL View Post
More photos.
The terminals at the top appear to be labelled both 30 seconds and 1 minute, but the slave dial is definitely 30 second impulses.
Note the resident in the middle photo!
Never seen a C7 with the extra wheel and micro switch, Gent were great at innovating ways to fulfil a customerís and integrate into an existing system.
Looks and interesting model, and one for the collectors, yes the weights always go missing, so very nice to have with it Enjoy your tinkering and the 30 second THUD, you can here through the house, but quickly get used too and ignore.
Robsradio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2021, 4:17 pm   #20
M0FYA Andy
Nonode
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Preston, Lancashire, UK.
Posts: 2,236
Default Re: "Master" Factory Clock

David,

You will find the attached helpful. Don't be over-faced by the amount of information in there, you won't need it all!

Assuming you get this Master clock, be sure to mount it firmly and squarely on a suitable wall before trying to get it going.

Draw out the circuit so you know what you've got.

Don't worry about the extra microswitch until the basic 30 seconds clock is working and driving its pilot dial.

Andy
Attached Files
File Type: pdf No_67 2012 revision.pdf (1.38 MB, 44 views)
M0FYA Andy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT. The time now is 8:56 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2021, Paul Stenning.