UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players

Notices

Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players Open-reel tape recorders, cassette recorders, 8-track players etc.

Closed Thread

Old 16th Jan 2022, 2:19 pm   #1
petechunnie
Diode

Smile Akai 4000DS. R2R record mechanism not functioning.

Hello everyone, a recently engaged enthusiast of 1970s Hi-Fi equipment I have sourcing various components and have acquired an Akai 4000ds. After searching threads over the globe I've not found a problem solving/service checking process to narrow down and determine the 'recording mechanism' failure fault to then fix.
I am new at this for sure but have learned recently to solder, recap circuit boards and am happy to work my through the many other skills as necessary (within reason) to restore these and service (at least my own items) as required.
Would anyone be able to suggest a starting place or direct me I have pulled my deck apart (which is still in functioning state for testing) & am stuck as to what to do next. Any guidance/sharing I would be grateful. Cheers pete::
Old 16th Jan 2022, 2:48 pm   #2
Kentode
Octode

Default Re: R2R record mechanism not functioning

Welcome to the forum.

I've got one of these, can you give some more details? Does it play back a pre-recorded tape? If you make a recording, do the VU meters move? Have you tried using headphones?

These are great domestic reel to reel decks with long lasting heads, the only problem with them is the mazac cams which can crumble away.

BVWS member
Old 17th Jan 2022, 12:39 am   #3
Michael Maurice

A couple of questions in addition to Kens:

When you go into record, does the record light come on?