UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Telephony and Telecomms

Notices

Vintage Telephony and Telecomms Vintage Telephones, Telephony and Telecomms Equipment

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th Aug 2021, 12:45 pm   #1
glados116
Diode
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Mytilene, Greece
Posts: 3
Default Connecting Astral Royal Albert phone in Europe

Hello,
I have a collection of Royal Albert porcelaine and one of the pieces is a UK vintage dial phone. It is in reality a replica of a dial phone with push buttons.
My project is to connect it and make it functional. The phone line wire has one end connected to the phone without a standard connector while the other end is an RJ11 plug.
At home in Greece, I have a DSL line with a splitter (internet/phone) so I connected the RJ-11 plug to the telephone marked socket of the splitter and here is the outcome:
For incoming calls it doesn't ring but once you pick it up it works as expected.
For outgoing calls it calls the number but nothing is heard once the call is picked up by either of the parties.
Does anyone have any clue of what could be the issue? Does the wiring need some kind of re-arrangement for it to work outside the UK?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0141.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	65.1 KB
ID:	239399   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0142.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	64.8 KB
ID:	239400  
glados116 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Aug 2021, 6:14 pm   #2
dagskarlsen
Heptode
 
dagskarlsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hakadal, Norway
Posts: 570
Default Re: Connecting Astral Royal Albert phone in Europe

Seen from Norway, The UK system has a difference in the ringer circuit, and you may need a ringer capacitor to the 3rd wire from one of the line wires (not sure which), but why the voice doesn't work equal on in and out is a mystery for me.

dsk
dagskarlsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Aug 2021, 5:01 pm   #3
McMurdo
Dekatron
 
McMurdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Staffordshire Moorlands, UK.
Posts: 4,452
Default Re: Connecting Astral Royal Albert phone in Europe

the easiest way would be to procure a uk Master socket, (2 wire input) for your phone line and connect the astral phone to the master socket via a BT431 cable (assuing that's still connected).

(These astrals will assume a 3-wire connection with an external ring capacitor.)

If you know what you're doing you might be able to hide a ring capacitor in the phone itself to create the ring voltage for the 3rd wire. (originally 1.8uF film cap)
__________________
Kevin
McMurdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Aug 2021, 7:56 am   #4
glados116
Diode
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Mytilene, Greece
Posts: 3
Default Re: Connecting Astral Royal Albert phone in Europe

Thanks so much.
First solution sounds clever and easier hack!
For final wall cable do I get an BT431 to RJ11 straight or crossover?
glados116 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Aug 2021, 9:48 pm   #5
rambo1152
Nonode
 
rambo1152's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 2,961
Default Re: Connecting Astral Royal Albert phone in Europe

It doesn't matter, because you will cut off the RJ11 and hard wire the cable into the phone replacing the one that is there now and returning the phone to how it would have been originally.

(I think that's what Kevin meant)
__________________
--
Graham.
G3ZVT

Last edited by rambo1152; 16th Aug 2021 at 9:53 pm.
rambo1152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Aug 2021, 7:07 am   #6
Dave Moll
Dekatron
 
Dave Moll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Cumbria (CA13), UK
Posts: 5,422
Default Re: Connecting Astral Royal Albert phone in Europe

Quote:
Originally Posted by glados116 View Post
For final wall cable do I get an BT431 to RJ11 straight or crossover?
If you use a BT431 to RJ11 adaptor, it will need to connect the inner pair (3&4) of the RJ11 to the outer pair (2&5) of the BT431 and vice-versa, or one incorporating a capacitor. Although I can't find an example of the latter online at the moment, they are available - I have one that I use for connecting three-wire UK 'phones to a two-wire RJ11 socket.
__________________
Mending is better than Ending (cf Brave New World by Aldous Huxley)
Dave Moll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Aug 2021, 5:49 pm   #7
glados116
Diode
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Mytilene, Greece
Posts: 3
Default Re: Connecting Astral Royal Albert phone in Europe

Do you mean something like the one in this link?

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/262671846092
glados116 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Aug 2021, 10:02 pm   #8
McMurdo
Dekatron
 
McMurdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Staffordshire Moorlands, UK.
Posts: 4,452
Default Re: Connecting Astral Royal Albert phone in Europe

looks good
__________________
Kevin
McMurdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT. The time now is 6:19 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2021, Paul Stenning.