UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum

UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/index.php)
-   Vintage Telephony and Telecomms (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   Irish P&T 332 - need help to connect in Ireland (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/showthread.php?t=171550)

PandTman 30th Sep 2020 1:41 pm

Irish P&T 332 - need help to connect in Ireland

1 Attachment(s)
I have an Irish 1954 GPO 332 phone which I am trying to connect here in Ireland. I have replacement cords which I got from Geoff Mawdsley via BritishTelephones.com and I have wired per their instructions here . However when I connect I have a ring tone but once I dial I get what sounds like an engaged tone. The phone does not ring for incoming calls either. I am no expert on this so if anyone could help I would appreciate as there is very little information online about connecting to the Irish network. Attached the wiring diagram.
Many thanks in advance!

Dave Moll 30th Sep 2020 3:31 pm

Re: Irish P&T 332 - need help to connect in Ireland

Probably not the cause of your problem, but I'm a little concerned how close the strap between T8 and T9 is to the strap above between T1 and T2, and the closeness of the T12 end of the resistor to T13. If these make contact they won't help matters.

I would be inclined to reseat the strap so that the left end is firmly within T9 and pull the right end of the resistor away from T13.

I'm puzzled by the apparent engaged tone - presumably an on/off tone of around 400Hz if the same as UK. The lack of ringing could be caused by ringing current not appearing on the green wire of the line cord. How is the line cord connected at the far end?

russell_w_b 30th Sep 2020 3:45 pm