UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum

UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/index.php)
-   Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   Revox B77. (https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/showthread.php?t=197639)

xbsa666 20th Jan 2023 7:45 pm

Revox B77.

Hi, I'm new here. And have an issue with the Revox B77 and just want to ask your thought about the issue I have, I've been searching forums and had found no answer yet. So the issue is with Recording on B77 I must keep my finger on the play button (after pushing record and play at the same time). If I remove my finger the record lights go off and the machine stops spinning. everything else works great playing and even recording levels and voltages are fine. Im a mechanical engineer and restore those machines as a hobby, this one put my dead in a track it is fully restored and cleaned most of Capacitors are replaced i got a kit from revox-online .com I did one last year worked without a problems. All calibrations are done and like i said performs flawlessly just that issue with recording, i suspect the Oscillator card or even audio integration board a specially REC LED's. thanks for input.

Ted Kendall 20th Jan 2023 8:10 pm

Re: Revox B77.

Welcome aboard! First thing to check is that the autostop is working properly - put a piece of paper in front of the IR sensor and see if the machine runs in record. It may be that the additional load in Record is affecting the autostop's trigger threshold.

jamesperrett 20th Jan 2023 10:41 pm

Does this only happen in record or does it happen in playback too?

Michael Maurice 21st Jan 2023 12:29 am

I would suspect one or both of the 2200uF 40V capacitors on the power supply board.

In record, the machine draws a bit more current which can bring the voltages down just enough to not work correctly.