UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > Components and Circuits

Notices

Components and Circuits For discussions about component types, alternatives and availability, circuit configurations and modifications etc. Discussions here should be of a general nature and not about specific sets.

Closed Thread

Old 10th Jul 2017, 11:48 am   #1
bobskie
Hexode

Default First Radio Build - 12V HT system

Hello everyone, I'm very new to radio technology and don't fully understand how it all works yet, what better way to understand than building my own radio? I have decided to use 12V for this project so it's non lethal incase I make a mistake.
I found this circuit which uses a 12v solid state amplifier
chip, that seems like cheating to me so I was wondering if I could use this circuit to amplify the signal. I received a load of TV valves so this is perfect. Another problem I have is that I only have 1 ECC 82 valve, could I use an alternative in any of the two places it's used? I will have a look through the box for any that would work. I will no doubt need more help as the project proceeds but I'm hoping my understanding of radios will increase. Thanks,

Cameron
Old 10th Jul 2017, 11:53 am   #2
peter_sol
Octode

Default Re: First Radio Build - 12V HT system

The ECC82 is 2 valves in one so you only need one.
Old 10th Jul 2017, 11:56 am   #3
bobskie
Hexode

Quote:
Originally Posted by peter_sol View Post
A 12AU7 is an ECC82
I know I only have one ecc82 valve though, I have just reread the amplifier instructions however and it says an ecc81 can be used instead which I do have so that should be fine.
Old 10th Jul 2017, 12:21 pm   #4
broadgage
Nonode

Use of a solid state amplifier is, IMHO, a bit of a cheat though still an interesting introduction to valve technology.