UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 27th Mar 2017, 6:26 pm   #1
LEEBULLY1
Retired Dormant Member

Default Decca TP85

Hi all

I recently picked up a Decca TP85 from a car boot sale along with a Tellux TLP5 record player.

The Decca was sold as untested, i have tried a battery in it and it makes a faint noise.

I have seen that this radio can take two batteries but in this one there is only 1 connection point.

Question 1

Will it only work with 2 batteries?

Question 2

Are any of the points on the back where i can connect it to the mains?

I must also say I am not very technically minded so please go easy on all the technical jargon

Thanks in advance
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20170327_180954.jpg
Views:	148
Size:	110.5 KB
ID:	139927   Click image for larger version

Name:	20170327_180640.jpg
Views:	147
Size:	90.2 KB
ID:	139928   Click image for larger version

Name:	20170327_180645.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	104.1 KB
ID:	139929  
Old 27th Mar 2017, 6:49 pm   #2
TonyDuell
Dekatron

Default Re: Decca TP85

To answer question 2 :

No, unfortunately none of those sockets are for a mains adapter/power supply. From the left, the first 2 are aerial inputs (for AM and FM), the next is an output for an earphone, then an output for a tape recorder (to record the programme you are listening to) and finally an input from a record player pickup to listen to records using the radio's amplifier and speaker.
Old 27th Mar 2017, 6:49 pm   #3
TrevorG3VLF
Rest in Peace

It looks as if it runs on a PP9 battery. Use a PP3 to test it. Make sure the polarity is correct.
I see no sign of a mains power supply.
There may be input connections for an external 9V supply.