UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players

Notices

Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players Open-reel tape recorders, cassette recorders, 8-track players etc.

Closed Thread

Old 16th Feb 2017, 7:12 pm   #1
BillTweedy
Retired Dormant Member

Default No sound from Ferguson 3258 tape recorder

I finally obtained the belts for my Ferguson 3258 tape recorder and fitted them OK. I started playing a tape and I had sound from the speakers but after moving the speaker balance slider a few times the sound has disappeared.

Can I spray a switch cleaner into the switch or use a compressed air spray? Failing that do anyone still manufacture a switch?

The machine has been in my loft for quite a long time so something could have deteriorated.

Bill
Old 17th Feb 2017, 10:07 am   #2
vinrads
Dekatron

Default Re: No sound from Ferguson 3258 tape recorder

Yes Bill the first thing to do when an item has not been used for ages ,is to clean all the switches including the record/playback switch ,then take it from there, Mick.
Old 17th Feb 2017, 10:25 am   #3
BillTweedy
Retired Dormant Member

Thanks Mick, is it OK to use switch contact cleaner or compressed air or do I have to take the slider switch out?

Bill
Old 17th Feb 2017, 3:07 pm   #4
BillTweedy
Retired Dormant Member

Update:- I've managed to get some Servisol contact cleaner but that hasn't worked.

I'm getting no sound out of both channels with the speakers and headphones. Is it possible that the slider switch for the speaker balance has lost continuity in the internals of the slider switch.

Bill
Old 17th Feb 2017, 9:52 pm   #5
BillTweedy
Retired Dormant Member

Another update:-