UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Telephony and Telecomms

Notices

Vintage Telephony and Telecomms Vintage Telephones, Telephony and Telecomms Equipment

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10th Jan 2017, 11:40 pm   #1
Pellseinydd
Pentode
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Flintshire, UK.
Posts: 229
Default BT Robin - Answering Machine 202A

Does anyone know what voltage the Plug Top power supply for the BT Robin (Machine ,Answering & Recording No 202A) http://www.britishtelephones.com/ansr202a.htm, introduced in 1985, used?

I've just found one at home (as you do!) but no PSU

As usual with a lot of BT equipment, there is no mention on any labels on it, of the required voltage.
Pellseinydd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jan 2017, 7:42 am   #2
Dave Moll
Nonode
 
Dave Moll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Cumbria (CA13), UK
Posts: 2,892
Default Re: BT Robin - Answering Machine 202A

I'll check to see whether the one in my store room has its PSU.
__________________
Mending is better than Ending (cf Brave New World by Aldous Huxley)
Dave Moll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jan 2017, 9:00 am   #3
Nickthedentist
Dekatron
 
Nickthedentist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oxford, UK.
Posts: 12,728
Default Re: BT Robin - Answering Machine 202A

This seems to be a common query: https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/...d.php?p=737483
Nickthedentist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jan 2017, 7:10 pm   #4
Dave Moll
Nonode
 
Dave Moll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Cumbria (CA13), UK
Posts: 2,892
Default Re: BT Robin - Answering Machine 202A

And unfortunately, I am unable to assist as my Robin has no power supply either. More importantly, not only is there no indication of voltage but also what the polarity is of the connector - though the latter can presumably be established by dismantling and looking at the circuitry (which I haven't done).

edit: I see that the point about polarity is also discussed in the referenced thread. Perhaps I should have looked there before replying.
__________________
Mending is better than Ending (cf Brave New World by Aldous Huxley)
Dave Moll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jan 2017, 10:09 am   #5
HamishBoxer
Dekatron
 
HamishBoxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: W.Butterwick, near Doncaster UK.
Posts: 4,990
Default Re: BT Robin - Answering Machine 202A

I remember or think mine was 18Volts.

PS The worst thing on these is dry joints in abundance
__________________
G8JET
HamishBoxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jan 2017, 11:28 am   #6
toshiba tony
Hexode
 
toshiba tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Accrington, Lancashire, UK.
Posts: 321
Default Re: BT Robin - Answering Machine 202A

Were they not ac. Something rings a bell, just look for the absence of a bridge
(or presence)
toshiba tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jan 2017, 2:19 pm   #7
AC/HL
Moderator
 
AC/HL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Idle, Bradford, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 5,011
Default Re: BT Robin - Answering Machine 202A

That could be why there aren't any polarity markings?
__________________
Bill, BVWS member
AC/HL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jan 2017, 2:59 pm   #8
HamishBoxer
Dekatron
 
HamishBoxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: W.Butterwick, near Doncaster UK.
Posts: 4,990
Default Re: BT Robin - Answering Machine 202A

In that case (AC) there will be a bridge.If I find my psu I will put it up FOC as I certainly dont have that Robin anymore.
__________________
G8JET
HamishBoxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jan 2017, 3:58 pm   #9
Dave Moll
Nonode
 
Dave Moll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Cumbria (CA13), UK
Posts: 2,892
Default Re: BT Robin - Answering Machine 202A

Quote:
Originally Posted by AC/HL View Post
That could be why there aren't any polarity markings?
On the other hand, the lack of them could simply be, as with the lack of any voltage indication, that it was simply expected to be run from a supplied PSU - so knowledge of what flowed between them was not considered necessary.

By the way, if the above-mentioned PSU is found, measurement and publication of its output would be useful before it's rehomed.
__________________
Mending is better than Ending (cf Brave New World by Aldous Huxley)
Dave Moll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jan 2017, 4:15 pm   #10
HamishBoxer
Dekatron
 
HamishBoxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: W.Butterwick, near Doncaster UK.
Posts: 4,990
Default Re: BT Robin - Answering Machine 202A

Will do Dave.
__________________
G8JET
HamishBoxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jan 2017, 5:58 pm   #11
julie_m
Dekatron
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Derby, UK.
Posts: 5,698
Default Re: BT Robin - Answering Machine 202A

I guess they were concerned that anything but an original PSU might invalidate the BABT approval of the answering machine, so avoided anything (like marking the voltage and polarity) that might encourage users to try substituting their own. Under the right (unlikely, but by no stretch impossible) combination of circumstances, a fault could damage the exchange -- or even other subscribers' equipment.
__________________
Julie {formerly known AJS_Derby}
julie_m is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jan 2017, 6:28 pm   #12
HamishBoxer
Dekatron
 
HamishBoxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: W.Butterwick, near Doncaster UK.
Posts: 4,990
Default Re: BT Robin - Answering Machine 202A

Good comment Julie.
__________________
G8JET
HamishBoxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jan 2017, 8:59 pm   #13
dseymo1
Nonode
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Shropshire, UK.
Posts: 2,290
Default Re: BT Robin - Answering Machine 202A

In this sort of situation, I usually check the polarity and approximate voltage by examining the electrolytic caps. I then start with perhaps 1/3 of their rated voltage, and slowly wind it up until the thing starts to work properly. Add about 20%, and that will usually do.
dseymo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:52 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2017, Paul Stenning.