UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 18th Jan 2017, 7:21 pm   #1
leontager
Retired Dormant Member

Unhappy Magnavox record player.

Hi guys,

I bought a record player about a year ago and it was working perfectly fine. However recently something must have broken and I cannot get any proper sound out of it. Instead I hear the song but it's very very quiet even at maximum volume.

Interestingly, if I switch it over to radio, it sounds just fine. This seems to indicate my speakers are working well.

I opened the back and tried cleaning out the connection with a bit of rubbing alcohol but it didn't seem to help.

I am not experienced with these so I recorded a quick video of what I am seeing and I hope someone could give me a few ideas on what to try next.

Thanks a lot for any advice!

https://goo.gl/photos/N7474NoCZT2DB4MU6
Old 18th Jan 2017, 8:25 pm   #2
RojDW48
Nonode

Default Re: Magnavox record player.

Hello and welcome. The first thing to do is to check for continuity. Pull the tags off the rear of the cartridge - take care, maybe use pliers to get a controlled pull. with the unit switched to gramophone touch the metal ends of the tags - you should get a distinct hum at half volume - if you do - you have a dead cartridge - if not, check the wiring all the way through to the amp.
Old 19th Jan 2017, 12:39 am   #3
RojDW48
Nonode

Afterthought - only one (or 2 if it's stereo - can't tell from the vid) of the tags should produce the distinct hum. The other(s) are ground connections.
Old 19th Jan 2017, 11:58 am   #4
Edward Huggins
Dekatron