UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 9th Sep 2017, 12:16 pm   #1
Graham Quinlan
Retired Dormant Member

Default Bush VHF61. No VHF FM.

I'm new to valve radio restoration and have acquired a Bush VHF61. MW and LW both sound fine, good volume, lovely 'valvy' sound quality, no noise etc, but the VHF only produces distortion and motorboating at certain frequencies e.g. just above 100mhz (Classic FM?). I'd really like to get the VHF working but given my limited resources I've decided to take the 'if it ain't broken don't fix it' approach with replacing the capacitors.

I've read various posts about this but can anyone recommend which ones to replace to get the VHF working again, given that I only want to replace the minimum necessary? I did a valve swap with the two EF 89s which confirmed the originals seem ok, and I read that replacing the capacitors around these valves should do the trick, but which ones exactly?

I have the original Bush servicing manual which I downloaded from ***********************, but the capacitor data sheet has the website address plastered over the data for some of the VHF capacitors, namely C11 and C13. Can anyone please confirm the capacitance, type, working DC voltage and tolerance for these please? I suspect they are silver mica and silver ceramic, in which case this is not an issue, but it would be nice to be sure.

If anyone could recommend a source of suitable capacitors where I don't have to buy huge bulk bags just to get one or two, that would be appreciated, or maybe someone would be willing to sell me the ones needed.